Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Pain’s Losing Power…

Pain cuts deep.
Past the surface.
Through bone and flesh.
What happens next…
—-
The lies I once believed,
The whispers in my ears.
The fear born deep within,
Accepting as truth, what I would hear.

Following the insidious leadings,
Into the realm of self destruction.
Smothered by a heavy darkness,
To which I’d helplessly succumb.

Now that power has faded.
Lies replaced with God’s truth.
Fear is buffered within me,
By a shield of faith I lift and use.

I can resist the temptation, when hurt,
Which once locked me in chains.
Tonight I did not drink or use,
Only God could make that change…

©E.D. Allee
October, 2014

Comments on: "Pain’s Losing Power…" (10)

  1. is this poem with elegancy and beautiful words can be added into my piano melody!

  2. So few words to chronicle your long and difficult journey. They parallel my own story of the lies I tell myself. Thanks for sharing.

  3. So beautiful and genuine …your prayer…I am feeling you Elizabeth! Have a wonderful evening!

  4. Such great lines: “Fear is buffered within me, / By a shield of faith I lift and use.”

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

