Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Silver Gleam…

imageThe ocean seems to mourn

Drifting softly to the shore

I look to the expansive sea,
Heart heavy with ache.
Moons fullness above,
Stars seek escape.

Wind blows hardened palms,
There’s a rumbling in the tide.
Imagination dances with the mysteries,
The hidden are calling my curious mind.

So dark and deep
What lies beneath
I focus on what I can see
The moon’s silver gleam.
In the distance strikes of lightening
The light is anchoring
To the present moment, enhancing.

Is my heavy heart, right here?
Is my burdened soul, right now?
Waste I this day, tears for tomorrow?
When they’re nowhere to be found?

Is current pain, born of a future yet unborn,
Still the present, because it hurts so bad.
The storm’s in the distance.
It may never arrive, or perhaps it already has…

Written while at Hilton Head Island, SC. Had some hard days after Robin Williams committed suicide. Hit me hard. Will post a couple of poems from that week. Was amazingly beautiful there- right by the ocean.

©E.D. Allee
August, 2014

Comments on: "Silver Gleam…" (18)

  1. This is beautifully written…and I can relate to it too. Thanks for sharing.
    Hope you’re alright now. Take care. 🙂

  2. Dark but beautiful poetry

  3. Beautiful and touching my friend 🙂

  4. kevin.fitzpatrick.3597@facebook.com said:

    Very pretty but disturbing I’m glad you got through that time had me worried

  5. Great! (Missed your poems 🙂

  6. Beautiful write E. Sad but extremely heartfelt and moving. Always hoping life’s storms pass quickly, but leave us lasting important memories and lessons. Be well friend.

  7. Your imagery touched me. It suggested to me that today’s pain is simply the birth pangs of tomorrow’s yet unknown gifts from God.

  8. Lot of emotion here, and yet that is you, wonder if one can bring a smile to embrace your face! Sending you hugs like dancing flowers…will talk to you soon E!

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

