Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Will I create reason for regret,

By the choices I make today?

With or without conscious intent,

To dark recall, will I fall prey?

Sustained regret is a fictitious deceit,

When shackled to for long.

The things I cannot change,

I must learn from and move on.

I grow through my mistakes,

Great teachers of time.

Yet I pray for the wisdom,

To know and choose what’s right.

©E.D. Allee

June, 2014

Comments on: "Regret’s Inception…" (4)

  1. What powerful thoughts, Elizabeth. You had me in the first two lines, as this message deals with my ongoing struggle. Thanks for your voice, and may God continue feeding you the most satisfying of spiritual fare.

    • Thank you. Regret’s tricky. It’s something we keep alive and it just eats away at us. I heard one time guilt can be our attempt to “pay” for our wrongs. Regrets similar maybe- but oftentimes I find it comes a lot from the “shoulda, coulda, wouldas”… Let God comfort you and grant you peace. Hope you’re well!

  2. I love the poem Elizabeth….beautiful!!!!!!!

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

