Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Reviving some of my recovery basics. I need to read these more regularly!

journeyinrhyme

Image

I’d like to change my tombstone up,

Scratch off items that no longer apply

I never gave much thought to it before

I once welcomed the day I would die

Words etched in stone, I avoided considering

I cared not about the how or why

I want an altered, accurate truth to prevail

Not cemented, false lies

Here lies Elizabeth,

She lived and died with careless fury

She lived a life of self-destruction

And died prematurely

Drink and drugs inside her, among broken glass

A victim of a tragic story

Suicide by overdose,

Plagued by deaths vainglory

Considering what I want now,

Upon my stone grave

Words, once accurate, have faded into obscurity

I now think about my life, and death, in a new way

Here lies Elizabeth

Surrounded by the light she knew while she lived

She spread joy and love

To a world in desperate need of it

View original post 228 more words

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

