Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

 

image

I once knew my future.
I could see it in my mind.
Not really one I would have selected,
If I could have chosen from a line.

I once felt hopeless about the future,
I didn’t know why I had to wait.
I wondered why I was here at all,
Why I couldn’t just rush fate.

I once feared the future,
Unsure if I had enough strength.
To make it through the pain,
In the path of final tragedy.

But I realize I was wrong,
That the lenses I peered through were tainted.
By deception and fears I’d adopted,
Regarding a future unpainted.

I no longer claim knowledge of what’s to come.
Predicting, I don’t even try.
I don’t worry about what will be.
One day at a time, on God I rely.

©E.D. Allee
April, 2014

Image: http://shapingheresteem.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Blank-Canvas-Outdoor.jpg

 

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

