Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Self Portrait Prompt: The first thing that comes to my mind when describing myself is I’m compassionate – empathy to a torturous degree without God’s help! I feel like a bit of a one trick pony of late- recovery/addiction are obviously huge parts of my life – but it’s been a little on the overkill level in my recent posts it seems- maybe not- either way- this poem won’t disappoint in the recovery theme! Thanks for hangin in here with me on my journey. Much love to you all.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My heart beats with compassion for the hurting,
The souls lost in a world flooded with pain.
The tortured and the struggling,
For the angry, alone and afraid.

I feel deeply to a core that’s been whittled away,
By time, and through experiences’ stains.
The aches of many, their sufferings,
The feelings run like broken glass through my veins.

To feel is to be alive.
But to feel, at one time for me was to die…

I once considered empathy an encumbrance,
So much weight, I couldn’t shoulder it.
I see now, trying to carry it alone was foolishness,
God gave me this heart; He’s shown me it’s a gift.

I’m growing and evolving each moment,
I’m no longer running from a false opponent.
In recovery, I’m learning to be content,
God sustains this heart as it laments.

©E.D. Allee
April, 2014

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

