Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Wrong Focus…

I express myself to the world,
Often through perceived expectations.
When I should live in my uniqueness,
The me plus God equation.

I aspire to be free from bondage,
Too much focus on what the world thinks.
Allowing myself to be a puppet,
Attached to societal strings.

Many a mask I could destroy,
By shedding my other-focused mindset.
I seek to live looking to God as my standard,
Admittedly, a challenging quest.

©E.D. Allee
March, 2014

Comments on: "Wrong Focus…" (9)

  1. How does God speak to us to let us know what he thinks? It’s not a trick question.

    • Wow, that’s an excellent question which I will answer based on my own experience. I “hear” Him when I am struggling with a question or problem and I open my Bible to an exact page with a verse to address the quandary. I like to play the “open the Bible to a random page and see what ya find game”- a lot! Little gems all throughout. Sometimes I will come across a verse in a sermon podcast or Christian radio, or emails I subscribe to. Sometimes the verse even precedes the challenge! In nature- parallels between my experiences or understandings and God’s creation. Through other people, through poetry, books, even tv sometimes- just subtle nods from God mostly. In prayer. A knowing. And a friendly little feeling within when I recognize His “voice”.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      • That’s cool. I don’t wander to dampen your enthusiasm for hearing God. Just be careful that you don’t carry on from one coincidence to another thinking that it must be from God. You have to be so careful. Always make sure it lines up with scripture. My goodness I’m starting to sound patronising. Bless you and I hope you have a wonderful day.

      • Thank you. I agree. And have been guilty of such thinking in the past, and may again. I’ve learned that discernment depends on knowing the truth. So I’m seeking just that. When the knowing is dampened with too much “me” that’s a good indicator!! Dude, I’m probably soooooo getting tested on this today!!! LOL.

        Sent from my iPad

        >

  2. I’m fascinated now. I hope you have other Christian friends who live near you and can help you to cope with everything that life throws at you, which can sometimes be overpowering.

    • I have people who care- I consider the family far away. I’m getting better at letting God shoulder more of the thrown realities. Thank you.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  3. Widow Beach said:

    Yes, it is a challenging quest.

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

