Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Caged Heart…

image

The windows of my soul are shut,
My hearts door is now locked.
I’ve shed tears till I can no longer cry,
Yet, the pain that is you won’t stop.

Why did I ever let you in?
How could I not discern,
The true nature that defines you?
Will I ever learn?

You stole then crushed my heart,
A practiced criminal in love.
My security has always been low,
And you called my strength bluff.

I think I’ve gotten away from you,
That I’m finally free of your remains.
But I’m reminded when the wind blows,
Pieces of me you still have in chains.

©E.D. Allee
March, 2014

Pic: http://s434.photobucket.com/user/kahunafiji/media/hearts%20and%20light/CageHeart.jpg.html

*note: channelling a past Elizabeth here.

Comments on: "Caged Heart…" (10)

  1. I felt the pain as i read this, such hurt and anger

  2. What a fantastic piece that pierced right through me
    Beautiful.

  3. So painful! I feel that pain while reading this! It’s so beautifully written that anyone who read this can feel your pain!you’re a gem dear!

  4. Widow Beach said:

    Very familiar–well done.

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

