Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

I Pray…

image

Father God, I pray,

Paint me beautiful, inside and out,
Fill my countenance with Your light.
Bathe me in Your love till I’m full,
Help me share that love, so it may ignite,

Walk with me hand in hand,
When I’m able to stand upright.
And carry me when my legs are weak,
Sustaining me with Your might.

Without you I am nothing,
On my own I sink in the rising tide.
Help me be what You want me to be,
I seek to be pleasing in Your sight…

©E.D. Allee
March, 2014

Pic:http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-DBmzu4v8jBI/T1uJ8BYU7OI/AAAAAAAAH4g/Bt0WzOLRIK4/s1600/butterfly.jpg

Comments on: "I Pray…" (15)

  1. Love this, beautiful as always:)

  2. Widow Beach said:

    So lovely–I especially appreciate that He not only walks with us, He carries us.

    • Thanks. I’d be a lot farther back without that aspect of His love!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      • Widow Beach said:

        I remember when I used to think He would just leave me behind in the dust–that dang devil and his lies!

      • Such a punk! Deceit is his thing. God’s truth is all we have to combat that- thank God we have it! Sent from my iPad

        >

      • Widow Beach said:

        But the fun part is when he tries to use the old tricks and I scoff at him: “Seriously? You really think that still works? Get outa here!”

  3. Genuine Poetry said:

    very beautiful!

  4. Always be assured he knows and loves you deeply! He blessed you with your beautiful creative light that shines brightly from your spirit while coming to life embracing us through your words Elizabeth! You are always a lovely treasure and blessing! Have a wonderful Sunday!

  5. What a beautiful prayer! It reminds me a little of the “Footprints” poem often seen with a picture of footprints in the sand.

    • You’re not the only one to comment on that element of the poem. Glad it was included- such a beautiful image to create within the mind.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  6. verbnflow said:

    So beautiful.

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

