Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Foul Spirit…

image

Foul spirit of negativity,
Bearer of frustration and strife.
You are not welcome in my presence,
Not wanted in my life.

You try your best to bait me,
Ripping me from my place of peace.
Nullifying the sun’s glow upon my spirit,
Seeking my surrender and defeat.

I inadvertently humor you at times,
The stench of your canine breath hidden.
Seeing only the sheep’s clothing,
Exposing my soul, to simply get bitten.

You enter into the people I know,
Generating exchanges, conflict-laden.
And I fall prey to, and cooperate with your efforts,
To cause joy’s dehydration.

It takes me a moment to call you a spade,
To ask God to watch over my tongue.
To pray I’ll be slow to anger and offend,
But once you’re made, you’re soon overcome.

As I endure your invasion, until you’re overcome.

©E.D. Allee
March, 2014

Pic: http://mylovelyquotes.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/945063_455267907889344_1143035170_n.jpg

Comments on: "Foul Spirit…" (12)

  1. Widow Beach said:

    Yep, it’s a sneaky and insidious spirit–requires almost constant battle/prayer.

    • For sure!! Insidious is a perfect word!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      • Widow Beach said:

        I confess that once it gets a hold on me, it’s hard to get loose–partly because it’s in my DNA (not funny). But that’s where Praise and Humor are put to good use!

      • It’s hard. I pray every day that God will help me be slow to speak, to anger, to offend… To put a watch over my mouth. Therein lies the problem I think- if I zip it quick the negativity drifts away quicker- my mouth just prolongs things! I fall into the trap that’s set, and then hang out there with my mouth still flapping if I’m not careful! LOL.

        Sent from my iPad

        >

      • Widow Beach said:

        Oh I know–and it’s so not funny, even though we put a humorous spin on it when we’re confessing to folks we feel safe with. Here’s the problem for me though–even if I keep it zipped while I’m in the offending party’s presence, you could make a Las Vegas bet on me going upstairs and having it out in a one-sided conversation that will loop until I’ve completely worn myself out–and it’s been known to take hours, sometimes days. So I’m far, far from sainthood, in case you were wondering….

      • What?!!! Not a saint? I’m shocked – just a plain human being huh? Me too. Not that I had to tell you that! Not as bad at the after party anymore- but that is a saturating experience- playing right into the enemies nasty claws!

        Sent from my iPad

        >

      • Widow Beach said:

        The after party–so that’s what we call it! Useful info, I’ll make sure to uninvite the red-vested dude.

      • LOL. except, he will probably crash it anyways!

        Sent from my iPad

        >

      • Widow Beach said:

        You haven’t seen me with my hands on hips, glaring–it’s a scary sight–I don’t think he’ll take his chances.

      • That’s the attitude!

        Sent from my iPad

        >

  2. You are very right. It is not every situation that knock at the door one should open the door for. We should be selective on any situation we accept. Thanks for sharing.

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

