Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

A New Past…

image

I’ve said goodbye to yesterday,
Yet it diligently strives to resurface.
The past is behind me, far away,
This is an unwelcome resurgence.

I’ve learned much of who I am in God.
There’s much to learn still today.
Despite how I once was,
God’s not leaving me that way.

No matter how hard the enemy tries,
To convince me I am still “she”.
To whisper false beliefs to my soul,
I’ve come to know differently.

My past is a tool I can use,
To show the hurting they’re not alone.
I can finally say I’m grateful,
For the painful place God’s brought me from.

©E.D. Allee
March, 2014

Pic: http://letmereach.files.wordpress.com/2013/12/free-from-the-past.jpg

 

 

Comments on: "A New Past…" (13)

  1. Widow Beach said:

    Though I’m not glad you have this experience, I’m relieved to know I’m not alone–I don’t understand why “yesterday” resurfaces. I confess I’ve been throwing a bit of a tantrum: “It’s not fair, it’s NOT FAIR!” And yet, my testimony true is that JESUS meets me, stands right there with me–no matter the storm or “yesterday”. For that I am grateful and Praise HIM–Hallelujah.

    • Speak it lady! I’d like to say that every time the past pushes through that I gain wisdom while not feeling threatened, afraid, sad, angry, regretful… I could go on. But, it still has some power over me. I am stronger than I used to be- I don’t crumble into an oblivion seeking mist of chemicals. That’s progress! If I channel it for good… I figure the control will be back in my hands. The control is that which I give it???

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      • Widow Beach said:

        God is so faithful to continually strengthen us through the trials, and truly He gives us our creativity as a way to “channel the stuff”. People think I’m a prolific poet/writer–I laugh, because when I am it usually means I feel like I’m goin’ crazy, and FAST!! God bless you ALWAYS.

      • Lol. I can relate to that. My “crazy” kinda all hangs out”. Purposeful crazy… There may be a poem in that somewhere- there’s your assignment! LOL.

        Sent from my iPad

        >

      • Widow Beach said:

        Ha ha ha ha ha–like I need a poetry assignment, you’re too cute! But I DO like that–“purposeful crazy”–wow, brilliant! That’s got to be a modern paraphrase of “beauty for ashes”, or somethin’ close.

      • LOL. I’m gonna hold to the belief that I’ve planted an assignment seed within you! Heehee. Good connection with beauty for ashes. That will work great in your poem! I’m turning into a “poetry assignment” pusher lately. Gotta check that! I like to believe it’s just confidence in your genius!

        Sent from my iPad

        >

      • Widow Beach said:

        Too funny. I’ve got poetry prompts everywhere I look–I think they’re starting to follow me around like animate “somethings”. Maybe I should vacuum more often…..

  2. Thank you for sharing such an awesome post most especially these words ”My past is a tool I can use”.

  3. Fabulous poem that I relate to one hundred per cent and more!!

    I wait with baited breath to see what widow beach comes up with in the assignment you set her!! Lol 😄x

  4. verbnflow said:

    I love this from title to finish. Survival is such a powerful message.

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

