Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Atmospheric Chains…

image
Atmospheric changes,
From pure visible light to stormy dark.
From protective calm to violent tempest,
Lightening strikes, I reach out, soul’s shocked.

Into worldly submission,
Defenses down, false shelter under metal trees,
Disconnected from God,
Focused fatally on me.

On my wants, my desires,
Dangerously toying with temptation.
Approaching it before it approaches me,
Destructive initiation.

I get stronger, growing in God,
Connected to The Holy Spirit’s promptings.
Conscience, intuition… Holy voices muffled by will,
Childish rebellion, disheartening.

Less of me and more of Him,
The ever present eye of all storms.
No more drowning in preventable floods,
I seek the shelter of the Son.

Now,

Will I take God’s offered, mercifully hand?
Or keep one foot in a grave, meant to bind me to this carnal coffin?

©E.D. Allee
March, 2014

Pic: http://nuggetsbyaprildishon.blogspot.com/?m=1

Comments on: "Atmospheric Chains…" (11)

  1. You just get better!!

  2. What I know is this–God never lets go of my hand, no matter what; it’s not about me always clinging to Him–He’s got a firm grip on me, and that’s the way I like it!!

    • Amen to that. I suppose if it were up to me hangin on- I’d of floated away years ago! Good reminder!!! Thanks lady.

      • You’re so welcome, sweetie–when I realized it wasn’t so much about me, it was a huge relief and great comfort. I love Him so much–mostly because He knows I’m a bruised reed, and He doesn’t expect more of me than I can manage. Isn’t it great that He never beats up on us? We’re so good at doing it ourselves. God bless you hugely. I’ll be moving to my new blog soon–I’ve already followed you from there, I think.

      • Are you? What’s the name of the new blog????

        Sent from my iPad

        >

      • ghostloveharbor.wordpress.com

      • Oh yeah… LOL

        Got it!

        Sent from my iPad

        >

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

