Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Music Box Memories…

image

I close my eyes and I’m transported,
As was the case when I was a child.
When my modest music box collection grew,
Each additional delight, offering new smiles.

I listened to cassette tapes with recorded tracks,
In a Walkman and a boom box.
I loved the soothing beauty, enchanting sounds,
I adored the entrancing moving parts.

Joy conceived metal to metal,
Pins activating a steel combs’ teeth.
I never knew how it worked back then,
It was simply magic, to me.

The delicate strums I lend ear to,
In today’s far away, adult world.
Reach a piece of my soul,
Reserved long ago, when I was just a girl…

©E.D. Allee
March, 2014

Pic: http://image.dhgate.com/albu_394058570_00/1.0×0.jpg

 

 

Comments on: "Music Box Memories…" (2)

  1. There is something very special about music boxes–do you have a large collection?

    • I agree. Not so much anymore. I’ve given some away to my nieces. The rest of them are still at my moms house. I was checking out youtube and saw these VERY old music boxes in action. Regina music boxes- which is what the tapes I used to listen too were from… They were similar to record players- just fascinating to watch and the sound is enchanting.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

