Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

image

I’m 31 architectural stacks in the sky,
I’ve really always liked getting high.

To the tips of the trees, as a kid I’d climb,
I’ve really always liked getting high.

“Window seat please”, only way to fly,
I’ve really always liked getting high.

Rotating restaurants and towers worldwide,
I’ve really always liked getting high.

Ascending hills and mountainsides,
I’ve really always liked getting high…

Maybe it’s a spirit within everyone,
Children embracing increase in the vertical.
Unafraid of the climb,
Not concerned about the potential fall.

Maybe I’m just trying to reach God,
In a literal and worldly way.
Reaching for the energy of a sun,
Which emits God’s powerful rays.

Perhaps the literal manifestations,
Have nothing to do with the figurative.

Maybe I simply like to climb?
But, I always have, and still, like to get “high”…

Do you?

©E.D. Allee
March, 2014

Pic: http://blacklemag.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/climbing-tree-799349.jpg

 

 

 

Comments on: "I Seek Vertical Increase…" (2)

  1. You know I have not received any of your posts for the last couple of days, and I realized something was wrong tonight! I really liked this poem, it so reminds me of….me! I am a lot like the way you described…so very beautifully written, and lifts the spirit! The happiness in your words is lovely to embrace Elizabeth! Have wonderful week ahead!

    • WordPress has little blips sometimes. I had to refollow people I once followed??? So glad you were able to identify! I hope your week is wonderful, and filled with lots of “get high” opportunities!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

