Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Sun Surprise…

image

Dwelling among the grayness,
Which had become sufficient light for me,
I simply forgot to expect the sun’s return.

Then suddenly, with a bright nudge,
A radiant heat upon my skin.
I’m reminded, for light, to yearn…
The e sun first breaks through
A dreary, cloud-filled sky
And finds its way to my face

That first unobstructed glow
The warmth enhanced by its absence
Is a gentle kiss of God’s love and grace

Then the clouds re–blanket
Softly settling back to their places
The sun continues to burn them away

Peeking in and out of small progress
Atmospheric denseness drowning
Asserting illuminations’ reign
How could I get comfy with the gray?
Why was I surprised by the sun’s rays?
Maybe “why”, isn’t important.

My heart is filled with appreciation.
Right now is a new now.
And back to the moment I’ve been transported!

©E.D. Allee
February, 2014

 

 

Comments on: "Sun Surprise…" (16)

  1. I have deep connection with this line: “Right now is a new now.” It has the power to transform an entire mindset. Lovely words as usual.

    • Awesome that that resonates with you. Main motivation for writing. Yeah, it’s crazy how quickly we can get out of the moment, and how refocusing usually needs to be done on purpose. Quick nudges from God work well! Thank you so much.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  2. Yes, so true: focusing and refocusing is such an important part of life. You’re welcome. Have a wonderful and inspired night.

  3. This is definitely a worthy ponder–becoming used to gray (as we are in the northwest), not expecting sun. And I agree that “right now is a new now” should be mined for the riches within.

  4. Thank you. A very beautiful poem.

  5. Welcome back sun. Don’t be such a stranger. Thanks for this reminder that there is a warmth and glow present even when not clearly visible, or somehow obstructed E.

    • The reminder would make a great billboard every ten miles of hwy! Glad it touched you. Good to see you in the boards. Was hoping you were doing ok. Still am!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

      • I am fine, thank you. Just letting the dust settle after my move. Exhausted. But aside from some loose ends and picture hanging, I am done. So hopefully this will bring me back around more consistently. Have an awesome day E.

      • So glad to hear. As a veteran mover- my heart goes out to you. Glad you’re getting settled.

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

  6. I do so love this:)

    • Thank you. I see you’ve revived quite a few of my old poems today- thanks. I’m glad you liked this. LOL- I totally just unfollowed you by accident and refollowed if you see that on your stats. My bad!

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

