Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Love My Enemies?

image

My aim is one of obedience,
Not always a desire of my heart.
To love my enemies as I’m am told, (Matthew 5:43-45)
Despite their harshly inflicted scars.

Not only love, but bless them,
Do good to those who have hurt me.
I’m even asked to pray for them,
While no reasoning I can conceive.

There’s much I do not understand,
God’s thoughts and ways are higher than mine. (Isaiah 55:8-9)
What’s beyond comprehension in the natural,
I find works out for my good over time.

I approach this rule, leading with compassion,
Placing myself in that person’s reality.
Trying to grasp why they are as they are,
Knowing much is hidden from me.

In handling others with humility and love,
Forgiving, when it seems unjust.
I consider my many mistakes,
All my wrongs which unfairly remain hushed.

And I pray fervently for the strength I need,
To obey my Lord’s clear petition.
Knowing, left to my own efforts,
I’ll only know resentments painful repetition.

©E.D. Allee
February, 2014

Pic: http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/rayortlund/2012/05/09/love-your-enemies/

 

 

Comments on: "Love My Enemies?" (5)

  1. I believe this is a word from God for me–I’d like to print it out and ponder it with Him, if you don’t mind.

  2. This is brilliant – the message is sublime and is a reminder that although a potential enemy may have their flaws, that we ourselves could be a mirror image when looking internally at the battles we rage within ourselves. I think there are plenty of messages and interpretations within this piece for all of us! Very nicely orchestrated and thought out.

    • Thanks hon. I’m glad it reached you on such a deep level. Your well thought out comments are always greatly appreciated. Healing wishes still with you! Take care.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

