Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

God’s Got This!

Image

I pray for what I think I need,
Overestimating my vote’s power.
Requesting wants in desperation,
No clear vision for what I even desire.

I find when God answers my prayers,
They may overshoot my expected target.
I delight in these unforeseen gifts,
And my faith is strengthened through the harvest.

At other times I question if He heard me right???
As if something was lost in translation.
An element of disappointment for not getting my way.
The results are far from my expectations.

Faith supersedes my human attempts at reasoning,
God knows and works what is best.
Although my prayers are answered, whether altered or denied,
The conclusive reality… Is one in which I’m blessed.

©E.D. Allee
February, 2014

Pic:https://www.kenboa.org/blog/2011/03/03/god’s-kingdom-will-endure-a-prayer/

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "God’s Got This!" (11)

  1. Keeping the faith… the power of prayer– certainly has helped me to maintain a favorable expectation for beyond the morrow. Thanx for sharing this post. Peace.

  2. Ohh, this is so so so so Wonderful (another one I relate to). God bless you.

  3. Good day
    Your pictures are very beautiful, why my likes that I go away again and again.I’m going to follow you now.Have a good day.
    Sincerely Andrea

  4. Beautiful words Elizabeth, your poem made my evening! Thanks for sharing my sister!

  5. Often asking what we’re not truly prepared for. Your faith is beautiful.

    • Absolutely. It’s taken a good bit of time (code for way too damn long) to gain some level of clarity and peace with God’s will vs mine… He knows what’s best. Accepting the denial of some of the expectations, the requests, the desires I’ve had was a struggle. Knowing I don’t know what’s best for me- relieving myself of that duty- has brought much peace to my life. I even found myself THANKING God for not answering some of my prayers a few months ago. Biggest example- not being able to have children. Soooooo much pain over the years. Tears at every diaper commercial pain!! I finally broke down and thanked Him… I truly believe He has His reasons- and I don’t have to know what they are to accept them. Thank you for your comment.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      • We’re often so stubborn. I’m also a believer in God’s timing. I can relate to that to a certain degree. There’s always a tug when it comes to wanting children. I’m glad you’ve found a way to make peace with it. Thank you for sharing. Xo

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

