Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Joy Turns to Sorrow…

Image

In the blink of an eye,
My laugh’s become a cry.
Settling anew with tear’s stains,
On the tail end of a fun, energetically sleepless high.

Fearing the decline, the abyss,
Where I find myself trapped for a stint.
Until an appointed time of release,
When the sorrow finally ends.

“They” call it bipolar mood cycling,
The cruel shift, euphoria’s exit.
Echoes of wakefulness spiked with joy,
Turn to liquified, molten lament.

Required to ride it out,
I’ve gotten better with the passing of time.
But I’d rather avoid this darkness,
While I’m waiting to realign.

©E.D. Allee
February, 2014

Note: I wrote this a while back. So, not current emotions.

Pic:http://www.deviantart.com/art/Bipolar-343768006 (a lot of beautiful images from this artist). 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "Joy Turns to Sorrow…" (8)

  1. glad there was a footnote! was worried for my pal!

  2. Powerful post well written E. Glad they are not current emotions. Keep smiling.

  3. Well written and proof you came a long way and stand here smiling.
    Keep smiling

  4. I was caught off guard E! I wish there was something or someway I could help it go away, you always bring wonderful smiles to stay, so I would love to do the same for you! You will recover quickly. Hugs to you my sister…god bless!

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

