Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

If Only…

Image

Just outside her window,
A sheet of glass away.
She sees past the familiar,
Through unrelenting drops of rain.
Life in graceful color,
Wings she wishes she knew.
To fly her from the four wall perimeter,
Which has dominated her view.

©E.D. Allee
February, 2014

Pic:http://bradnd24.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/loneliness.jpg

 

Comments on: "If Only…" (20)

  1. Stunning my friend.

    • Thanks! Hope things are going good in your world!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      • They are. I meant to Thank you for catching that typo in the word Life’s for me. It was hard to see in the font I used and on my laptop screen. So thanks for calling that to my attention. I have to admit, at first I thought you were questioning the pieces intent. (why the description in my comment). Sometimes the obvious eludes me like a fugitive from the law. LOL. Thanks again Bud E. You rawk!!.

      • Glad I could help. I’m a huge fan of people who ask for clarification of intent if even slightly offended or puzzled. Stupid auto correct on an iPhone is reason enough for that- so I’m grateful you caught that and questioned. Of course I could be misinterpreting your comment and implying offense! LOL.

        Sent from my iPad

        >

      • no offense. I write late usually and by the time it is posting time my editing skills are usually frayed at the edges. So to have an extra apostrophe just hanging out in the wrong place causing trouble and me not noticing is par for the course. Just glad we are friends and have each others back when it comes to things like that. So glad it was a meaningful poem to you. What kind of music do you listen to most often anyway? No wrong answer BTW

      • I know it’s a generic answer, but most everything. I do avoid “die die die” metal music. I dig a mix- classic rock, my “Hippie” music, christian contemporary, indie rock… Willie Nelson is as country as I get- and I really dig him. Love grace potter and the nocturnals- southern rock sound does it for mr- acoustic folky sound dies too- big chick artist fan. Your turn.

        Sent from my iPad

        >

      • I am predominantly a metal head. Born and raised on hard rock and heavy (thrash) metal. I am however a MUSIC fan and as the aforementioned “VERY amateur” musician, I have grown to appreciate and draw inspiration from many different types of music. From classical, and jazz to blues and fusion. Some R n B. Just not a hip hop or rap fan, Nor old school country. Opera doesn’t suit my ear although I admire the hell out of the vocal talent. Anyway, what it really boils down to for me is musicianship. If it’s good and the musicians are willing to play it live then I will listen.

      • Yep. I think it’s a matter of keeping one’s mind open. There is something artistic and beautiful in most music I figure. But we all are drawn to different styles for different reasons. I figure a lot of my music taste comes from what I call my “womb music”- LOL. Ever consider posting some of your music on your blog?

        Sent from my iPad

        >

      • BTW What would you consider “Hippie Music”? Perhaps another genre for me to explore, or at least find something new. Unless I am familiar with it already but under a different “category” so to speak.

      • LOL. Probably nothing there’s historically correct by any means. Music that makes me feel “free flowy”, like putting flowers in my hair and playing with LSD or just lighting a joint. The Doors, Fleetwood Mac, Bob Marley, some of the Beatles stuff, some Mammas and Pappas, Led Zeppelin, Simon and Garfunkel.

      • See I was gonna go straight to the Grateful Dead. LOL. I figured it was probably an all encompassing thing, but had to make sure I am not missing out on some untapped musical enjoyment. I really am a music enthusiast (junkie). lol.

      • I think I just missed the grateful dead train. I’ve heard a few of their songs and enjoyed them- just never properly schooled. That’s a good “junkie” to be!

        Sent from my iPad

        >

      • I was/have never been a big “Dead” fan, but I would certainly categorize them as HIPPIE. LOL.
        Have a great day Vegas E.

      • You too J-Man!

        Sent from my iPad

        >

  2. What a great piece and pic! Well done missus. Made me feel like getting on a plane!

  3. So deeply touching…I am feeling the voice of your heart in within your words! Always so nice to embrace their smile! Thanks!

  4. Should be in your words!

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

