Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Big Boys Aren’t Afraid!

Busy with my addictive smart phone,
I sat awaiting my plane’s arrival.
Next to a restless young boy and his dad,
“Papa'” is what the boy called his father.

Overhead erupted a roaring alarm,
Frightening, considering our culture of terror.
The gates were filled with baffled gazes,
And the small boy expressed his fear.

To which his father replied…
“Your a big boy; big boys aren’t afraid”.
He repeated this emphatically,
Until he persuaded the child to agree.

Disconcerting alarm aside,
My heart sunk within my chest.
The message imparted by the father,
Was responsible for my distress.

The lesson taught had me worried.
Would that boy grow up suppressing his fear?
Betraying his natural human emotions,
As he was trained and engineered?

Courage is not the lack of fear,
But the forward movement while afraid.
Hopefully the message that child received,
Will be circumvented in his coming days.

©E.D. Allee
February, 2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "Big Boys Aren’t Afraid!" (2)

  1. Such an important message E. Truly courage is not the lack of fear, but the fortitude to continue on in the face of fear. You truly do have a good perspective and handle on things. That is what will see you through the tougher, seemingly impossible times. Keep Inspiring us all my friend.

  2. Thank you. I was quite excited when I discovered that I could be afraid and courageous at the same time!!! This situation was just so disturbing- the dad just would not stop repeating the same junk over and over… Same message about crying-maybe this poem seems a bit dramatic- just made me sad for that boy…

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

