Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Forever Valentine…

Image

You were my very first Valentine,
Before I was known to the world.
Your hands still warm with creation,
Your countenance reflected pleasure at Your work.

The rosy red heart you made me,
You placed within my chest.
Your poetry and Your songs,
Were scribed gently inside my head.

The first smile I ever smiled,
I smiled happily at You.
The first utterances I ever heard,
Came from Your powerful voice of truth.

I’ve been in love with You since the beginning,
Although we spent some time divided.
I’m more smitten with you now than I ever was,
Your love is beautiful and inspiringly vivid.

So, I take this rosy heart within my chest,
And I offer it back to You.
I return the poetry and songs
You give each day anew

I want You to smile when You see me,
Pleased with Your child, Elizabeth.
I want You to hear “I love You” in my voice,
Until I draw my last afforded breath.

Dust to dust, and throughout eternity, our love will thrive.
You are my heart, my first and forever valentine…

©E.D. Allee
February, 2014

Picture: http://www.lrbc.org.uk/news/2012/02/14/happy-valentines-day-god-loves-leigh/

Comments on: "Forever Valentine…" (13)

  1. Wow! Beautiful!

  2. A beeeeeeatiful piece!!

  3. On of the most beautiful poems I have ever read! His love always inspires me and we being of that same spirit, I can see it blossoming in you to greater heights! I love the poem Elizabeth, thanks for the spiritual hug this morning…it is awesome! Have a beautiful day, you made mine beautiful with your lovely poem!

  4. verbnflow said:

    This is genuinely moving. Something we often forget to acknowledge. Your words are always beautifully arranged.

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

