Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

If I Were A Song…

Image

How would the melody sound,
If I were a song?
Would it be an upbeat, catchy tune?
Would people want to sing along?

Or would it be slow and haunting?
With melancholy laced sustained chords,
That send soft chills down the spine
Invoking thoughts of life’s joy robbing storms?

What would the lyrics be?
What instruments would represent me?
Would the song play on repeat?
Or would it fade into premature finality?

©E.D. Allee
January, 2014

Picture: http://blogs.yis.ac.jp/19leehy/files/2014/01/music_notes-1z5rh82-rivhfz.jpg

 

Comments on: "If I Were A Song…" (13)

  1. If this poem were a song, I would repeat it on a loop. I believe you needn’t be concerned with what people may think of you Ma’am, for the words that you write here, filled with their concern and heart, along with your words of previous pieces, make you seem like a very caring and sweet lady.

    • You are so sweet. Thank you for such kind words at the start of the day. How are you doing?

      • I am doing well thank you. How are you?

      • I’m gonna make it- been cycling in mania of late (notice u are part of the mental illness site as a volunteer- dream something) so assume you have some sort of knowledge base- accumulated about five hours of slept since Monday- but is a happy productive mania instead of the scary overstimulated one… So no real complaints overall. Helping the creativity for sure!

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

      • Although the creative positivity in your comment carries strength, I can’t imagine five hours of sleep being too wonderful. I can’t talk; I only receive a couple winks of sleep every night, but sleep is a fundamental necessity to life.
        Before sleep, do you engage in stimulating activities that cause your mind to ceaselessly wonder consciously? If you are having trouble sleeping, maybe go to bed at a later time? Close your eyes and focus on an object that provokes very little thought or stress (for me its colors and shapes, and sometimes they spin around which I guess causes some kind of sleepy hypnosis). Additionally, if you cannot sleep, continue vesting in life and venture back to bed later?
        Even though the mania has proven productive, I do hope that it settles soon to alleviate you of ills and enable you a decent nap.
        Ma’am, my knowledge base on mental illness is less professional and more personal, although I believe that everyone who suffers inevitably becomes a professional on the subject, regardless of whether they received degrees in such an area of study.
        With regards to your creativity, I do hope it continues to exponentially expand without nefariously affecting the other aspects of your life.
        I wish you all the best Ma’am.

      • Thanks. This particular mania has been so enjoyable that, despite my brain racing enough to hinder sleep- I don’t really want to sleep. Like free drugs in a sense- and since I’m clean now I’m digging the natural high. Ty again for your awesome feedback!!

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

  2. An upbeat swing.. so dance through life

  3. You are a unchained melody, whose voice is endearing to the ears of those who are blessed enough to hear their beautifully symphonic rhythms. No one can hold you down dear sister and that is a great asset! God bless and have a wonderful weekend!

    • Melting over here! Your comments are lyrical and filled with love- they offer gifts of encouragement. You are a true blessing. Thank you so much! Have a great weekend!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  4. Genuine Poetry said:

    love it!! 🙂

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

