Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Final Good-bye…

The final good-bye,
They could not have predicted.
Her grief was only slightly premature,
As she continued willing life into the lifeless.

Vainly hoping he’d pull through,
That the wounds weren’t all that bad.
But as the blood blanketed more of her hands,
She realized she was losing her dad.

She spoke offerings of absolution,
From the harm he had caused.
Making sure he knew she loved him,
Despite his errors and flaws.

She can’t be sure he heard her.
If he understood the love in her expressed sentiments.
But she swears she saw peace arrive,
As she witnessed his struggle’s end.

©E.D. Allee
January, 2014

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "Final Good-bye…" (4)

  1. Saddening yet heartwarming at the same time friend. I hope you are okay.

    • I’m good. I was totally inspired by a tiny snippet I saw at the end of Hawaii 5.0… Don’t judge me! LOL! Has real-world, relatable flare though! Hope you are also good!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  2. I have been moved by scenes from television and movies that reflect the reality of life both happy and sad. I am the sensitive type, I cry both at happy and sad endings…they often inspire because of things that have happened throughout our lives…beautifully done, you surely can write!!!! Blessings!

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

