Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

To Those I Love…

If my demise seems premature,
Know I was at peace with this life.
Mourn my passing a short season.
Let the tears fall, then dry your eyes.

There were many years of struggle,
Mixed with joy and triumphant song.
All led me to God’s loving arms
Know I am there where I belong,

Know I loved you with my heart whole.
Thanks for your part in my journey.
You showed me the meaning of love,
And I hope you felt loved by me.

We are not promised our next breath.
I’m pained by thoughts of leaving you.
But there is a purpose and time,
To all, though the days feel too few.

My heart’s a part of yours always,
Immortalized by memories.
I am not gone, I’ve just moved on.
Remain hopeful we’ll again meet.

©E.D. Allee
January, 2014

Note: this is not meant as a melancholy prelude to suicide… Just mortality acknowledgement. Love and peace to you all!

 

 

 

Comments on: "To Those I Love…" (17)

  1. When I first read this I thought you were going to top yourself. Only when I read the last bit was I more at peace. Every day is a gift from God. Keep your chin up.

    • Thank you. Yeah, I was worried about misinterpretation. All is fine. No worries!

      • Did you spend all night not sleeping again? It must be time for you to get up.

      • I got a couple of hours. I’m riding little sleep well actually. My sleep schedule is just a little wacky of late is all.

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

      • Surely you’re about to get up now as it’s 6.30 am for you there.

      • I’ve been up since 12:20 this morning. It’s 7:16

      • what do you do all night?

      • Two hours are spent at the gym. Then just random stuff is all- write, some cleaning… This is a funny conversation. It’s a matter of my body being tired but my brain hanging in wakeville! Not always like this. So, how are you?

      • I’m not too bad. I should be working but I find myself drawn to the internet. I’m just finding it hard to get motivated. I’ve just been designing our new group’s website at http://jacksdalejotters.jimdo.com/ . I find it stimulating designing websites. I also like cleaning. I like things to be neat and tidy but I don’t do it in the middle of the night like you. That is dedication. Also I keep all my poetry in dropbox and sometimes I like to go and organise it. I find that very therapeutic. I like things neat and tidy even my poetry. What am I like? I’m suprised the gym is open in the middle of the night. I suppose it is Las Vagas after all.

      • LOL- it is Vegas! But here are a lot of 24 hour fitness centers in the US. The internet is very distracting- I hang here a good bit myself. Cool you create websites. That would be fun- all the creativity involved.

        Well, stay focused! And I hope you have a groovy rest of the day!!!

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

      • Thank you. It can be distracting, even this website.

  2. As I read your words, I thought to myself there is something I did not know, and yet even before I got to the end…I knew it would not be so. You have brought to our lives something special, and I know there will come a time, when we may no longer write here, our special words of rhyme. But I am glad it s not yet the case, for your light will blossom still, and I know that God will always keep you safe, so that in our lives you always will. I have not visited the last few days. I had problems with my MS, but know I am feeling better especially when I visit your words my sister…God bless always!

    • Hey mister!! You were very much missed. Wondered about you- enemy did a good job of making me question if I had said something in a poem to offend you… Which, by admitting makes me sound all kinds of crazy and irrational- but was in my head. I didn’t know that you were dealing with MS. I’m sorry for your struggles- just soooo glad you have such a good relationship with God… I know He sustains you. Enjoying your beautiful writings as usual. God bless you and I hope you have a great day!!! By the way-I like your new gravatar pic!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  3. Thought for a second I was I was going to have to talk you off the ledge my friend. I read this thinking that “there better be a disclaimer at the end” And sure enough there was. I am glad you are at peace with your mortality. That is important. Beautifully written as well. Now that I know it’s purpose. LOL. Here is to the hope that Me and my “blogger bud” are around for a VERY long time to come. Keep Inspiring
    XO

    John

  4. verbnflow said:

    I was having a conversation about how some people can write and be present with an emotion that doesn’t actually threaten them. I feel like this is a great example of that. It’s the best therapy.

    • Good call… Didn’t think of it that way. I call it “jumping in”- sure you are familiar- when you jump into another’s experience, even if it’s a fictional version (or pre-version)!of yourself. It is great therapy. Helps me push past the worst case scenario emotional upsets at times… Grounds me a bit. Thanks so much for your comments!!!

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

