Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Head In The Sand…

Image

I often push away difficult thoughts,
When those very thoughts I should ponder.
The idea of considering the uncomfortable,
Activates my mind’s impulse, to escape and wander.

I keep busy with distracting pursuits,
Ones demanding concentration.
Or ones which simply entertain,
Offering menial stimulation.

Similar to a leak in a roof,
Problems don’t disappear if ignored.
Eventually my choice is to deal with them,
Or drown in the pool on the floor.

Avoidance is dangerously appealing.
I’ve employed habitual denial for so long.
These methods haven’t served me well,
I need: a New voice, New rhymes, New lyrics, and New songs!

©E.D. Allee
January, 2014

Picture:http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_7KtnsnmgDe8/SpeekEBYg2I/AAAAAAAAHck/7IBerdq7kB4/s400/head-in-the-sand-small.jpg

 

Comments on: "Head In The Sand…" (2)

  1. I love how your poetry is so introspective. Bravo.

    • Thanks. Your winterlong poem rocked! Like I could pour it over ice and drink it (regularly) good! Glad to be following your gifted artistic expressions! Peace to you.

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

