Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

I Falter…

I waste not time asking why,
Explanations prove too numerous to sift.
Answers are primarily filled with opinions,
Based on varied beliefs and experiences.

But I do find myself wondering,
Confounded by the repetitive theme.
How it is, in spite of all I’ve learned.
I keep choosing what’s wrong, and faltering.

Pesky flesh, disobedient and immature soul,
In constant training I remain.
I face trials and tribulations,
I’m growing and learning each day.

At one time, mistakes brought self-condemnation,
Which tried to separate me from God.
I now focus on the gift of spiritual conviction.
God and I both know I’ll fail… A Lot!

I now move to God rather than away when I’ve erred,
Knowing only He can make me stronger.
I’m afflicted with self-focused desires,
A carnal soul, a spirit-offending impostor.

My needs and wants I seek without pause,
I trip on stones when my guard is down.
I continually try to pilot this vessel myself,
Yet, when shipwrecked, still need to be found.

I haven’t got myself together, not sure I ever will,
And I suspect my past will always strive for revival.
Temptations will tug at my soul while I have breath
I’m just grateful I have God with me through it all.

©E.D. Allee
January, 2014

 

 

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

