Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

To be amongst the warmth of family
To know the comfort of familiarity
To see smiles I’ve longed to witness
From faces divided by distance

To experience the connection of embrace
An energy emitted by love in the space
To hear the laughter, radiant with light
And the unmistakable sound of a child’s worn out cries

To play goofy games for hours
Coffee with pecan pie
Streams of nastalgic conversation
A world of ice and rain outside

I’m blessed to be home for the holidays
Recording new memories and recalling old
Until we meet again in time
I’ll take my family with me when I go

©E.D. Allee

January 2014

  

Comments on: "" (7)

  1. Love This 🙂

  2. Beautiful. Captures the holiday atmosphere and mood perfectly

  3. Terrific sense of flow additionally captured by a number of great words. The line ‘to play goofy games for hours’ is definitely my favorite – the alliteration works sublimely. Very well written ma’am!

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

