Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Coveted Silence…

Image
Is it really you?
Nice to make your acquaintance 
Your true nature before me
Coveted silence…

Once you were
Heavy and overwhelming
Deafening sound
Giving way to torment
No peace to be found
I’d fill the stifling vicinity 
With polluted distractions
Trying to block my “quiet”
With false presentations

Can you hear that?
Nothingness
Void of chaos 
Desirable emptiness
The incessant chatter 
Has stopped for a time
And I’m not haunted by 
That which I’ve left behind

Your thick abrasive tendencies
Have faded some
And your once hidden nature
Is coming undone
My heartbeat is confined 
To my chest
No longer blaring in fear
While I’m at rest
You’re accompanied
by a sense of calm
The threats of the world 
Seem to take pause
Is this what others know?
Will I continue to unravel your power?
I never knew it was possible 
To quiet my mind at will

We have much to discover, you and I 
I hope this relationship continues to grow
I seek to stroll with you by placid waters
In sun and rain, wind and snow

 ©E.D. Allee

 
 December 2013
 
Pic: freedigitalphotos.net, Stock Photo – image ID: 1008694

 

Comments on: "Coveted Silence…" (2)

  1. Beautifully written. x

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

