Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

I said goodbye when I never

Had a real chance to say hello

You gripped me from the start

By my long hair and wouldn’t let go

Sunk your teeth into my neck 

Trying to make me like you

Taking my soul one drink, one hit, one line at a time

You kept my hurting eyes from your deceitful truth

I allowed you to separate me from me

Leaving an almost empty shell

Reducing me to below minimum

In the darkest pit, alone with you I did dwell

I blended in, merged with my surroundings

Shadows became my confidants 

No soft pillow to rest my head

Barely aware of my beating heart

 

I hear you calling still, from beyond illusory ashy remains

You lie in wait for my return

Patient, calculating, vindictive 

Of my weaknesses you’ve learned

 

One thing you didn’t count on

Was the restoration of my faith in God

You didn’t know I’d have a powerful ally on my side

That there would be barriers, heavy shields between us strong

 

Your wiles, your threats

Your intimidations have lost strength

No remnants remain of your false love

Appears as though you failed… at taking all of me!

©E.D. Allee
 December 2013
Comments on: "You Failed at Taking All of Me…" (2)

  1. Well done you! My friend the victor!!

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

