Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

 

Eleven months clean
Didn’t see that one coming
One day at a time!

I know newfound peace
Promises are coming true
I hope for today

What once was a dream
Becoming reality
I’m grateful to God

Knowing renewal 
I sit and reflect in awe
I am worth saving 

AA’s been for me
A catalyst to my growth
Helping light the way

©E.D. Allee

December 5, 2013

 

 

 

Comments on: "11 Months Clean/Sober: Haiku Reflection" (8)

  1. Thumbs up and keep it going. You are doing it. one day at a time.
    keep smiling.

  2. Congrats on 11 months!

  3. Congratulations my friend. I know a lot about how tough, but rewarding the first year can be. But what a refreshing newfound clarity of the mind and conscience it was for me. Time to start thinking a bit about what you will do to celebrate that first year. I know it is a ways off but you have come so far. 12 months is just around the corner. Surround yourself with friends and family who truly know you and how far you have come. Though I know you only through this blog and your special talent with words, I am very proud of you and to call you friend. One day at a time my friend. It works……If you work it.
    JMC

    • Thank you so much. I’m so grateful to call you friend as well. To know there are people who can relate and who know what life in recovery can be is such a gift. Thank you for being supportive and encouraging me. I will be back home in Texas with family on my sobriety birthday. Very excited! The clarity is HUGE… Cheesy little things, little details make more sense… Just weird. The promises, I once could not envision for myself, are coming true. Just so blessed. The beginning of this non-altered journey was maddening. I felt I was going to lose what little mind I had left!!! Kicking and screaming, claws out fighting… Just amazes me that I’ve come thus far, and has me looking forward to things getting better (even when they get messy!). Take care of you.

      • I think we all can relate to the fighting back in the beginning. It takes letting go to actually gain a stronger hold. I think you wrote about that a while back didn’t you? You could not have been more right. Anyway, support and encouragement from others in sobriety is SO important, so no worries ever. If you ever need a shoulder or set of ears, I am here. Only people in recovery can TRULY understand the hardships we face. Everyone has their own individual story of course, but the similarities are what forms the common bond. Be well Elizabeth. Keep Inspiring.

        John

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

