Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

 

There’s so much I don’t understand
Answers, explanations I’m not privy to
I try to apply my human logic alone
When deciding what to do
I go with what “feels” right
What makes the most sense
I follow the advice of others
Choose the path of least resistance
I’m not fond of suffering
I feel at times the sacrifice is too great
It’s so hard to be hopeful
And patiently wait

When all within me is crying out
This is much too hard!
I have to believe God knows what’s best
And trust He holds my heart
I know my vision stretches
Only as far as the moment
If I could see what He sees
It would be easy to be obedient
I trust God’s word
And, though I fall short, I try to follow His path
I know the answers are available
And His promises are mine to be had
Yet I’m in this fleshly shell
Which tries to subdue my spirit
Appealing to my selfish and self-centered side
Encouraging me to quit

I will never be perfect
Yet always I will strive
I’ve attempted to live my way
And now I want a better life
I know trials will come
I’ll be tested so that I may grow
And I pray for the strength I need
To simply let go…
©E.D. Allee
November 2013

 

 

 

Comments on: "To Trust, To Fight, To Hold On… Let Go" (10)

  1. This is simply marvelous. What a lovely prayer.

    • Thank you. It’s about striving I’m learning. It’s counterintuitive that we gain strength when we let go… I’m finding out daily how much my understanding differs from Gods… And I’m questioning less!!!

  2. Such a good piece my friend. So true. So hard to let go of things we would rather try to control. It is a very important thing to learn, and so hard to make happen. Thank you for this post. I hope you are well. Congratulations on your 10 months a little late btw. You should be very proud. Keep up the fight and let go when need be.

  3. Peter Fifield said:

    Some times you just cant let go..

    • True… I found that “I” couldn’t. So I asked God for help. The AA cliche “be willing to be willing” is a good one-was the start. And I’ve by no means let go completely- a big work in progress!!! I think it’s so wild that letting go would actually be the strong thing to do- strength gained. Counterintuitive for sure, which is probably why I fought it so hard for so long! Human tendency is to be in control- I mess things up that way. Hope all is well with you!!!

  4. Behind the questions there is a certain optimism about this. And, if you ever another pair of ears, you know where to come!! Well done!

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

