Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Depression: Different Now…

smoke_fading_effect_2_by_angelov881-d5axoqb

I revisit her sometimes

She is different now
The power she had over me
Is not as strong now
It’s visitation, we know we will part ways
She is different now
Even her darkness seems faded
Perhaps my eyes are different now
Her solid form has transformed into smoke
She is different now
She seems lonelier than I ever felt
I guess she misses me now
She seems harmless and vulnerable, yet she’s beguiling
She is different now
We almost left this world hand in hand
I won’t hold her hand now
Her life force, that which takes lives, has dimmed
She is different now
We danced together in slow circles of shadows
She dances alone now
I feel a sadness for her
She is different now
The darkness
The desire to die
The lack of hope
No strength to try
The destructive coping
Peace with having no peace
Belief in the oppressive lies
She once told me
She is different now…
I am different now…

 

 

 ©E.D. Allee

 October 2013
Comments on: "Depression: Different Now…" (11)

  1. Feels great to see you can do it without her, doesn’t it.
    Well done. Keep smiling.

  2. Couldn’t have put it better myself. This could have been written for me.
    It’s lovely and I really enjoyed reading it 🙂

    • Thank you so much. I’m glad and sorry you identify with it so much. It’s always comforting to know we are not alone in our struggles. Wish others didn’t have to struggle at all, but there is triumph in connectedness. Thanks again!

  3. noname1975 said:

    I’m not much of a poet, but I really enjoyed reading this. Very nicely done.

  4. Very, very good. Strong emotional piece.

    • Thank you. I was digging through my CD’s and came across Coldplay – that was the “soundtrack” for my suicide attempt back in 2007. Hadn’t listened to them purposely since. I felt compelled to play it- and revisited that darkness- and it just wasn’t as dark anymore. That is the inspiration.

      • Thank you for the insight into your inspiration. I am truly glad to see that she holds much less power now. As more time passes, that strength will weaken as yours grows. Once again, Very strong work of word art. Thank you for sharing it.

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

