Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Pressing OTIS…

photo (18)

You know who you are

Excessive button presser

Evil eyes in a locked stare

Wishing the “servant box” would open faster

Due to your repetitive stabbings

I think He deliberately takes His time

Annoyed by your disrespect

He slows down His descent or climb

After a while he’ll open begrudgingly

Out of obedience and obligation

But His compliance will, most certainly

Be laced with spiteful hesitation

Yes, He has a job to do

Assigned duties He must perform

But believe it or not, other people exist

Oh, don’t act so shocked and forlorn

Stand there displaying your foolishness

Keep with your rapid-fire beckoning

Push until your finger bleeds

Vainly imploring

The only pain will be your own

And not a single moment gained

Simply evidence of your impatience

Shamefully displayed

Otis always has the last laugh

Never will you win

So, I’d think twice if I were you

Before excessively pressing Him again!

©E.D. Allee

I’m soooo curious if the OTIS label appears on the majority of the elevators people around the world use- for Otis Elevator Company???? I suppose I notice the OTIS while avoiding eye-contact in the elevator!  Feel free to comment regarding your familiarity or lack thereof… just a note regarding the chosen title.

Photo By Gregory Szarkiewicz, published on 11 October 2009

Stock Photo – image ID: 1008617

Comments on: "Pressing OTIS…" (4)

  1. I have not noticed the OTIS label in an elevator, but I don’t ride a lot of elevators. What a unique poem and interesting poem! Well written. 🙂

  2. I’ve never noticed the OTIS thing ma’am – then again I try my best not to use elevators all too frequently; they kind of freak me out – think it has something to do with my dislike of having floor which moves uncontrollably beneath my feet.
    Very well written ma’am, with a recognisable message within the lines; additionally, this poem does remind me of the traffic lights… 😀

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

