Poetic Journey in Personal Discovery

Stolen Joy

How quickly we give our joy away with little regard for its value

As if welcoming dejection were a common thing to do

 

Upon breathing in the breath of the new day, assuming I’ve shaken off the old

My heart is not yet darkened by the heaviness of this world

Yet with little provocation my peace can come undone

Leading to a downward spiral challenging to overcome

 

I paused in reflective awareness yesterday and felt overcome with disdain

Recognizing the joy stealing moment for what it was, I chose to not let it reign

A conviction I’ve sadly never recognized came to the surface with aggression

And I found myself disgusted at the notion that I so freely give away the joy God has given

 

It’s not about my tenacity at seeking it, it’s already inside my heart

Joy is alive within whether I choose to acknowledge it or not

The actions and words of others, perhaps coming from anger and unhappiness

Are theirs to hold onto if they so choose, but they are mine to vehemently reject

 

My happiness springs from within and I needn’t allow negativity’s piercings to reside as nursed wounds   

I must pause before speaking, pause before anger prevails, and hold tight to what I know to be true

I already contain all the joy I need; it’s one of the fruits of the spirit (Galatians 5:22-23)

And I have the option to squander or cherish the gift

Once I give my joy away in the moment it’s hard to find my way back to center

I often regret my actions and spoken words, and once realized they can’t be recovered

Like an infectious disease they spread to others around me

And the result of a moment of human weakness is the birth of multiplied negativity

Slow to speak and slow to anger (James 1:19)   are words I strive to heed

I seek to break past responding in like-kind to the angering situations around me

I believe I need God’s strength here, and I pray for His guidance and instruction

I too often try to do it alone and fail time and time again

I desire to keep the joy in my heart, forever may it stay

People can’t really steal my joy; It’s I who gives it away

 

©E.D. Allee

August 21, 2013

🌻 I welcome your thoughts 🌻

Tag Cloud

